TAS News

Principal’s Blog

FNQ Interschool Chess Championships Finals 2019

Date:August 26, 2019

The Far North Queensland Interschool Chess Finals were held in the Bishop Centre 22 August. Dedication, preparation and good sportsmanship


2019 Gala Concert | Friday 30 August

Date:August 5, 2019

No entry fee – all welcome.    


Junior School Variety Night 2019

Date:July 25, 2019

ONE NIGHT ONLY! Tickets now available for “Harry Potter & The Wizard of Oz” – 2019 Junior School Variety Night.


FNQ Interschool Chess Championships – Round 2 2019

Date:May 31, 2019

TAS Teams enjoyed excellent success in Round 2 of the FNQ Interschool Championships held on 28 May due to their


FNQ Interschool Chess Championships Report Rd 1 2019

Date:March 12, 2019

It was great to see 294 students competing in Round 1 of the Far North Queensland Interschool Chess Championships last


Remembering Kara

Date:February 25, 2019

Today, we celebrated the life of much-loved teacher Miss Kara Pylypiuk.    The TAS Community is in mourning at the


Principal’s Blog – “Sausage Factory” Schooling Model

Date:September 16, 2019

I recently had a terrific conversation with a university academic about the schooling model in Australia. Her view was very


Principal’s Blog – Quality Educators

Date:August 29, 2019

As educators, we are continually looking at ways of improving the learning outcomes of the students in our schools. At


Learning, Believing, Achieving – The School’s Role in Developing Social and Resilient People

Date:June 24, 2019

I was fortunate enough to listen to a podcast recently of Bernard Salt who presented to the Independent Schools State


Principal’s Message – Trinity Day 2019

Date:June 17, 2019

For those who missed the Trinity Day message from Principal Paul Sjogren about the importance of the three pillars of


Principal’s Blog – Student Gain Analysis | NAPLAN

Date:June 5, 2019

NAPLAN Student Gain Analysis 2016 – 2018 data One way of measuring the quality of teaching and learning at a


TAS – Top 3% of Secondary Schools

Date:March 7, 2019

Dear TAS parent/carer, We were pleased to receive contact recently from the federal government’s Chair of the Standing Committee on


TAS News

FNQ Interschool Chess Championships – Round 2 2019

Date: May 31, 2019    Posted by: Sue Wicks

TAS Teams enjoyed excellent success in Round 2 of the FNQ Interschool Championships held on 28 May due to their preparation, high levels of commitment and determination. This round saw 366 students compete which was a record attendance. Chess is a challenging game and our students displayed good sportsmanship and prudent decision making during the competition. It was pleasing to see members of our team displaying good grace in victory and defeat.

Special congratulations to all students who made their debut. Highlights of this round were:

Primary Premier Grade (7 teams with 28 players)
Team Results
First TAS WRJ Chen: Joanna Chen, Angela Xiang, James Nguyen and Jack O’Neill
Second TAS WRJ Qu: Lucas Qu, Ben Harris, Braith Bragg and Hayden Coombs
Individual Results
First Place Lucas Qu
Second Place Jack O’Neill
Third Place Angela Xiang

Primary A Grade (11 teams with 44 players)
Team Results
First TAS WRJ Macdonald: Max Macdonald, John Phan, Tyson Lewis, and Sam Bryceson
Individual Results
Second Place John Phan
Third Place Jadon Norbury
Fourth Place Cody Peters

Primary B Grade (13 Teams with 52 players)
Team Results
First TAS WRJ Ulm: Poppy Ulm, Rio Thomson, Philippa Smith and Arabella Stewart
Second TAS WRJ Lewis: Jed O’Connor, Brandon Lewis, Imogen Green and Raphaelle Dossous-Parris
Third TAS KBJ Zheng: Lauren Zheng, Joshua Barry, Ruby Colbridge and Nihar Manohar
Individual Results
First Place Lauren Zheng
Third Place Poppy Ulm
Fourth Place Joshua Barry

Primary C Grade (21 Teams with 77 players)
Team Results
First TAS WRJ Harvie: Ciara Harvie, Franklin Dennis, Gypsy Malyon and Morrison McRobb
Second TAS WRJ Stone: Annabel Stone, Treyton Muirhead, Kobi Tippet and Oliver Gilbert
Third TAS WRJ Li: Tommy Li, Isabella Clague, Jacob Nguyen and Jai Jassar
Individual Results
First Place Tommy Li
Second Place Annabel Stone
Third Place Ciara Harvie

Primary D Grade (17 Teams with 58 players)
Team Results
First TAS WRJ Anu: Miranda Liria, Arawyn Ruellan, Samson Jubi and Muara Anu
Third TAS WRJ Tanswell: Lyla Schiller, Ashlyn Tanswell, Alana Hill and Lucy Whipp
Fourth TAS WRJ Lambert: Madison Lambert, Roseanne Igo, Khyati Shrivastava and Hayden Coxon
Individual Results
First Place Miranda Liria
Third Place Arawyn Ruellan
Fourth Place Lyla Schiller



Back to Top
Translate »