TAS News

Principal’s Blog

FNQ Interschool Chess Championships Finals 2019

Date:August 26, 2019

The Far North Queensland Interschool Chess Finals were held in the Bishop Centre 22 August. Dedication, preparation and good sportsmanship


2019 Gala Concert | Friday 30 August

Date:August 5, 2019

No entry fee – all welcome.    


Junior School Variety Night 2019

Date:July 25, 2019

ONE NIGHT ONLY! Tickets now available for “Harry Potter & The Wizard of Oz” – 2019 Junior School Variety Night.


FNQ Interschool Chess Championships – Round 2 2019

Date:May 31, 2019

TAS Teams enjoyed excellent success in Round 2 of the FNQ Interschool Championships held on 28 May due to their


FNQ Interschool Chess Championships Report Rd 1 2019

Date:March 12, 2019

It was great to see 294 students competing in Round 1 of the Far North Queensland Interschool Chess Championships last


Remembering Kara

Date:February 25, 2019

Today, we celebrated the life of much-loved teacher Miss Kara Pylypiuk.    The TAS Community is in mourning at the


Principal’s Blog – “Sausage Factory” Schooling Model

Date:September 16, 2019

I recently had a terrific conversation with a university academic about the schooling model in Australia. Her view was very


Principal’s Blog – Quality Educators

Date:August 29, 2019

As educators, we are continually looking at ways of improving the learning outcomes of the students in our schools. At


Learning, Believing, Achieving – The School’s Role in Developing Social and Resilient People

Date:June 24, 2019

I was fortunate enough to listen to a podcast recently of Bernard Salt who presented to the Independent Schools State


Principal’s Message – Trinity Day 2019

Date:June 17, 2019

For those who missed the Trinity Day message from Principal Paul Sjogren about the importance of the three pillars of


Principal’s Blog – Student Gain Analysis | NAPLAN

Date:June 5, 2019

NAPLAN Student Gain Analysis 2016 – 2018 data One way of measuring the quality of teaching and learning at a


TAS – Top 3% of Secondary Schools

Date:March 7, 2019

Dear TAS parent/carer, We were pleased to receive contact recently from the federal government’s Chair of the Standing Committee on


TAS News

FNQ Interschool Chess Championships Finals 2019

Date: August 26, 2019    Posted by: Sue Wicks

The Far North Queensland Interschool Chess Finals were held in the Bishop Centre 22 August. Dedication, preparation and good sportsmanship was applied and rewarded with awesome results.

It was pleasing to see students enjoying the challenges of chess with such enthusiasm and contributing to the team.

TAS WRJ Qu and TAS WRJ Nguyen have qualified to play in the State Finals in Brisbane. We will also send two WRJ Girls teams to compete in the Girls State Finals.

Thank you to all the students, staff, families and friends that have supported and encouraged chess this year. The benefits of chess are awesome.

Special congratulations to all students who made their debut.

Highlights of the day were:

Primary Premier Grade (9 teams with 35 players)

Team Results
FNQ Champions:

1st – TAS WRJ Qu: Lucas Qu, Joanna Chen, Jack O’Neill and Angela Xiang

3rd – TAS WRJ Nguyen: James Nguyen, Liam O’Shea, Pragyan Pandey and Ryan Goodfellow

Individual Board Prizes
Board 1 Prize Lucas Qu 6.5 out of 7
Board 2 Prize Joanna Chen 7 out of 7
Board 3 Prize Jack O’Neill 6 out of 7
Board 4 Prize Angela Xiang 6 out of 7

Primary A Grade (11 teams with 44 players)

Team Results
1st – TAS WRJ Robati: Max Macdonald, Max Britton, Sam Bryceson and Mark Robati
2nd – TAS WRJ Pundi: Melody Grace, Tyson Lewis, Khalel Pundi and Ryan Mann
3rd – TAS KRJ Mathews: Jonah Mathews, Lauren Zheng, Jay Curtis and Rhys Stevens

Individual Results
1st – Max Macdonald
3rd – Dean Coombs
4th – Melody Grace

Primary B Grade (13 Teams with 48 players)

Team Results
2nd – TAS WRJ Stone: Franklin Dennis, Ciara Harvie and Annabel Stone
3rd – TAS KBJ Herbert: Joshua Barry, Ruby Colbridge, Luke Berther and Ava Herbert

Individual Results
1st – Franklin Dennis 7 out of 7
4th – Brandon Lewis

Primary C Grade (16 Teams with 58 players)

Team Results
1st –  TAS WRJ Muirhead: Gypsy Malyon, Treyton Muirhead, Isabella Clauge and Kobi Tippet
2nd – TAS WRJ Baig: Raiyaan Baig, Bobbi Collins Steele, Miranda Liria and Jai Jassar

Individual Results
1st – Gypsy Malyon 7 out of 7
2nd – Treyton Muirhead
3rd – Raiyaan Baig

Primary D Grade (17 Teams with 58 players)

Team Results
1st – TAS WRJ Jubi: Muara Anu, Liana Kerschbaumer, Samson Jubi and Madison Lambert
2nd – TAS WRJ Barnes: Arawyn Ruellan, Lucy Whipp, Abigail Barnes and Joanna Male
3rd – TAS WRJ Hill: Alana Hill, Khyati Shrivastava, Ashlyn Tanswell and Carter Peters

Individual Results
3rd – Muara Anu
4th – Liana Kerschbaumer

Back to Top
Translate »